Review: Rockwell and Sons

Now usually a really good burger is best remembered with a few bites and the words ‘Fuck, this is awesome or Fuck, this is orgasmic’ in my books. Just like my case of an awesome burger courtesy of Rockwell and Sons. These guys know how to make good burgers. How do I know that? Simple, I sampled their delicious burgers, aptly named Double Patty Smash Burger, at Wellington On A Plate 2014.They had a nice pop-up stall outside St. Johns bar out at the Wellington Waterfront. I visited their pop-up stall 3 times I believe and each time it was perfect.

Recently I went and ventured out to Melbourne, on what I call a food tour. Unbeknownst to me, my main man Anthony Bourdain already had a term for this type of shit, Gastro-Tourist. Sounds fitting as all I did was eat for the 4 days I was over in Melbourne. I knew I had to get to Rockwell and Sons. It was on my hit list to conquer on this trip. I so wanted to try them burgers once again. So off I went with my partner in crime (Wifey) on a cold April night. Venturing out of the main city centre to travel to a nearby Suburb called Collingwood.

I was honestly so excited for this place, that I already knew what I was going to order when we walked in. We were getting the Beef Tartare, Chicken Skin Crackling and Tater Tots, for myself, I got the Fried Chicken Sandwich, while my other half got the Double Patty Smash Burger.

I was highly impressed with the Beef tartare. To be fair, it was my very first time trying beef tartare and this was really good. Marinated pieces of rare beef along with this wicked as mayo/dressing it was amazing. I need to find a restaurant that does Beef tartare and see if I would like theirs too. The Chicken skin crackling was different yet was what you expected. Salty pieces of chicken skin. It was balanced well. Not too salty, not too bland.  Next came our burgers. I tried something different to see if they do other things well (judging from the starters, these guys know their food). First few bites were heaven. Chicken was moist, perfect flavour and damn I love the buns they use!!!! The same goes for the amazing Double Patty Smash Burger. Usually whenever Wifey and I eat out we swap meals midway through eating. I managed to finish off both burgers. Oh and the Tater Tots were amazeballs too! Can never go wrong with tater tots! After our mains, I politely asked the waitress if Rockwell and Sons would be holding another pop-up stall for Wellington to which she replied ‘Maybe.’ And flashing a smile. We told her we came from Wellington just to try out the actual restaurant and they did not disappoint one bit. Service, friendliness, errthang was on point. We even managed to score a free dessert, Pistachio Cookie with Lemon curd Ice cream.

I rated Rockwell and Sons in my top 5 restaurants that I’ve been to. 4 outta 5 in my books. Good Eating!20150412_20034320150412_20102120150412_20150820150412_202748 20150412_20283120150412_20281920150412_210611

Leave a comment