Recipe: Crack Burger…

I’m not gonna lie, I love burgers. Like I really love them. Majority of the time whenever I eat out at a restaurant, a burger is my go to item. I like my burgers cooked medium to well done but most of the time its cooked well done. Now when I cook burgers at home, I get really creative. I dislike (hate’s a strong word) the basic burgers; seeded bun, lettuce, sliced tomato, red onion, cheese, thin overcooked patty and relish.

So I decided to spruce things up and make my own signature burger, The Crack Burger. Just an FYI there wasn’t any crack used on this burger.

For the Crack filling you will need:

250g of Cream Cheese

3 whole gherkins diced

1 jalapeño diced

2 cups of grated Cheddar Cheese

1 cup of sliced spring onions

Method:

1. Combine softened cream cheese, cheddar, jalapeño, gherkins and spring onions.

2. Mix until everything has binded and set aside.

Now for the patties, I use a technique commonly used for burgers like a Juicy Lucy. Make 2 small patties and fill one of them with the filling and put the unused pattie over the one with the filling. Kinda like a meat sandwich. That’s a well kept secret in my books…

For the patties (Serving 2 peeps):

800g Premium Beef Mince

1 diced onion

A jar of Bacon jam

Salt and Pepper

Burger buns

Method:

1. In a bowl, mix together the mince, onion and S&P.

2. Measure out 200g of the mince mixture and form a ball. Repeat for the remaining mixture.

3. Once you’ve got 4 small balls, flatten them out to form an evenly shaped patty.

4. Spoon a mixture of the crack filling on to one of the patties. Repeat on another pattie.

5. Just like what I stated, using the Jucy Lucy technique, grab the unfilled pattie and form a meat sandwich. Make sure it is well sealed so the mixture does not ooze out.

6. I cooked my burgers for 3.5mins on each side to get that pinky goodness. Cook up some bacon for some variation.

7. If you’re feeling ambitious, with some of the left over crack filling, smear some on top of your pattie and grill until melted and then add bacon on top.

8. Toast some buns, add bacon jam on the top and bottom, bacon jam, pattie and bottom bun.

And there you go folks! Out with the basic and in with IMG_20150406_180423cIMG_20150406_191343rack! Happy eating!!!

IMG_20150408_194440IMG_20150408_194816

IMG_20150406_192530

IMG_20150406_191657

One thought on “Recipe: Crack Burger…

Leave a comment